MMSHOF – Honoring our Racing Heroes

2011 Inductees: Top Row L-R: Doug Flannery, Mrs. John Anderson (accepting posthumously for her husband a 2002 inductee), Jon Oberhofer alongside Corey & Colin Kalitta, Doug Finley & John Doering Jr. Bottom Row: L-R Jerry Makara, Doug Kalitta & Allan E. Brown

This past Sunday (November 6th) I attended the Michigan Motor Sports Hall of Fame Induction Dinner for the class of 2011.

As a board member I truly feel honored to be able to help preserve the history of this great sport by paying tribute to the sports greats.  

Unlike most organizations, board members are not solely responsible for inducting eligible candidates.  Instead, we as a board review biographies which are submitted by the general public for validity and pass those biographies along to every past inductee to vote upon.   Our board member votes hold no greater weight than that of the nominee’s peers.  That is what is so truly amazing about this organization; it is truly heroes voting for heroes.

This year joining Michigan’s racing elite were; Motorcycle champion Ernie Beckman, Publisher Allan E. Brown, Legendary open wheel competitor Marv Carman, Super Late Model standouts John Doering Jr. and Doug Finley, The master of snowmobile engine performance Doug Flannery, Former USAC champ and current NHRA Top Fuel competitor Doug Kalitta, along with his cousin the late Scott Kalitta, stock car legend Jerry Makara, and the first woman to become a race promoter; Joan Simmons.

Nearly three hundred individuals were in attendance to pay homage to these racing greats who have forever shaped motorsports history.

Also receiving honorary awards presented by the Michigan Motor Sports Hall of Fame Board of Directors where; Stella Lindahl whose unending dedication to asphalt oval track racing made her a perfect choice for the Dick Beebe Memorial Award.  Verwayne Greenhoe has changed the face of modern racing coverage with his Races on the Web broadcasts and was honored at the event with the Mick Schuler Media Award.  Long-time racer Ron Parish was also honored with the Lifetime Dedication Award for his contributions to the sport.

I would like to congratulate each of this years inductees and thank them for making the sport I love what it is today.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: